Botswana Cricket Association


Gabs-3 Team with the Winner's Trophy.

Report from the Desk of Mr. Sumod Damodar, Secretary – Fixtures & Publicity.

The BCA national T20 tournament came to an end this past weekend with the Semi Finals and Final being played at the BCAOval and the awards presentation held thereafter which was graced with the presence of Mr Tuelo Serufho (CEO of BNOC & Youth Games Gaborone 2014) and Mr Barulaganye Mogotsi (Corporate Affairs Manager-Corporate Citizenship of Debswana).

The results of the games are listed below for your perusal as well a photo of the Winners Trophy being presented to the Karabo Modise, Captain of Gabs 3;

 Semi Final 1 – FCC vs Lobatse/Kanye – FCC Won the toss and elected to BAT

FCC were 141 for 5 in 20 Overs – A Bhargava 35(25), S Bhargava 25(29), C Vikram 63(57), S Pathan (2 Overs 2 Wkts for 8 runs) & A Malek (3 Overs 1 wkt for 13 runs).

Lobatse/Kanye replied with 142 for 8 in 19.2 Overs – D Kallazhy 46(30), A Malek 41(37), R Shah (4 Overs 2wkts for 16 runs), S Bhargava (4 Overs 2wkts for 32 runs)

Lobatse/Kanye Won by 2 wickets; Man of the Match – Abdulla Malek 

 Semi Final 2 – Gabs 3 vs FSR – FSR Won the toss and elected to BAT

FSR scored 126 for 5 in 20 Overs – A Saiyed 71(60), S Khan 15(13), K Modise (3 Overs 2 wkts for 14 runs) & A Siddiqui (4 Overs 1 wkt for 18 runs).

Gabs 3 fought back to finally chase the target by putting on 127 for 8 in 19.5 Overs – S Rangaswamy 41(45), S Nair 20(23), A Siddiqui 19(12), S Khan (3.5 Overs 3wkts for 23 runs), Istyak (3 Overs 2wkts for 21 runs)

Gabs 3 Won by 2 wickets; Man of the Match – Aamir Saiyed

Final – Gabs 3 vs Lobatse/Kanye – Lobatse/Kanye Won the toss and elected to BAT

Lobatse/Kanye only managed to put on a low total of 131 for 9 in 20 Overs – D Kallazhy 33(43), R Sheikh 37(21), A Malek 18(10), N Bandara (4 Overs 4 wkts for 15 runs) & N Ahmad (4 Overs 2 wkt for 26 runs).

Gabs 3 chased down their target by responding with 132 for 3 in 15.5 Overs – K Modise 56 not out(40), S Rangaswamy 47(39), A Malek (4 Overs 3wkts for 31 runs,

Gabs 3 Won by 7 wickets; Man of the Match – Sidharth Rangaswamy


Individual Awards for the Tournament:

Best Batsman    –    Karabo Modise (Gabs 3) having scored 245 runs in the tournament

Best Bowler    –    Aarnav Ram (FCC) for having taken 15 wickets in the tournament

Best Moment    –    Zain Abbasi (Gabs 2) for having scored 123 runs in 48 balls (13 6s & 8 4s), taken 4 wickets for 23 runs in 4 overs and holding on to 2 catches in the match against Gabs 3

Player of the Tournament    –    Deepak Kallazhy (Lobatse/Kanye) for having scored 255 runs & taken 10 wickets in the tournament.

The levels of sportsmanship and degrees of performance displayed throughout the tournament has been highly motivating and the commitment from the teams in the North, namely, FCC & FSR to fulfill their fixtures is indeed appreciated. A feeling of a mini cricket carnival was witnessed during the weekend with the presence of families of players from FCC & FSR and the other teams.  

We also thank the media for their continued support and wish to pursue this partnership in our Mission of “Bringing Cricket to the Nation” ……………

Gabs-3 Captain, Karabo Modise Receiving the Winners Trophy

Gabs-3 Captain, Karabo Modise Receiving the Winners Trophy

Lobatse / Kanye Captain, Abdul Rauf Receiving Runners-Up Trophy

Lobatse / Kanye Captain, Abdul Rauf Receiving Runners-Up Trophy

Lobatse / Kanye Team - Runners-Up

Lobatse / Kanye Team – Runners-Up


BCA Scoring Application